2013-2014: a year full of prizes for the International Institute of Air and Space Law (IIASL)!

2013 has been a very successful year for the IIASL: students, staff and an alumna have won prestigious prizes; in fact, they won all international contests in this field of law.

In March 2013 adv. LL.M. student Uros Kosenina was awarded the Geoff Masel Aviation Law Prize, in the international competition organised by the Aviation Law Association of Australia and New Zealand (ALAANZ). In his research paper entitled: Aviation Product Liability: Could Air Carriers face their "Life and Limb" being placed in Peril for the Exclusivity of the Montreal Convention?, he made a comparative analysis of aviation product liability developments in the United States and in Europe, and discussed legal issues in relation to the Exclusivity Principle of the Montreal Convention. 

In September 2013, alumna Elena Carpanelli (student in the Air & Space Law LL.M. programme 2010-2011), was awarded the Diederiks-Verschoor Award by the International Institute of Space Law for her paper – co-authored with Mr. Brendan Cohen – titled The Notion of Damage Caused by a Space Object under the 1972 Liability Convention

The next prize winner was Wouter Oude Alink, who won the 1st prize in the EALA prize competition with his paper on the Regulation of Registered Traveller Programmes. The European Air Law Association this year also awarded a 2nd prize, which was granted to another student from the Leiden LL.M. programme, Sonja Radosevic, for her paper on the EU’s External Aviation Relations.

The year was concluded by the first prize of the prestigious Constance O’Keefe Annual Aviation Law Writing Award, sponsored by the International Air Transport Association (IATA) which was won by David Cluxton (LL.M. student 2013-2014) for his paper on the The Fifth Jurisdiction and Forum Non Conveniens. Being the winner of this prize, David won a return business class ticket and attendance at the annual IATA Legal Symposium that took place this February in San Francisco.

The International Institute of Air and Space Law is very proud of these achievements and wishes the winners continuation of their successes!

Last Modified: 12-03-2014